A permit is required year round for floating the Desolation and Gray Canyons section of the Green River. Permits can be reserved at www.recreation.gov.
Dates to Know:
Lottery applications for the lottery permit season (May 1 trough September 30) are accepted from December 1, to January 31 for the upcoming year's lottery.
Dates before May 1 and after September 30 can be reserved on a first come basis through Recreation.gov starting December 1 for the upcoming float season.
Launches from May 1 to September 30 are included in the lottery.
Lottery notifications are emailed on February 15.
Successful lottery applicants can accept awarded launch dates, awarded through the lottery, by March 15.
Dates not accepted will be cancelled March 15.
Dates not accepted and dates cancelled will be available on a first come basis on Recreation.gov starting March 16.
Other cancellations are random and may appear on Recreation.gov at any time.
Please do not submit fees until after you obtain a launch reservation. Incomplete, illegible or photocopy applications will not be processed. E-mail submissions and faxed applications will not be accepted. Do not send multiple applications for a launch for yourself, an organization, or a group. List any trip sponsor or affiliated organization associated with the trip on the application card (e.g., school, church group, etc.)
Permits are issued only through advance reservation to individuals at least 18 years old. Do not show up at the launch ramp expecting to get a launch reservation or join another group. Reservations may be obtained in two ways: (1) pre-season drawing, or (2) post-drawing telephone reservation. We must have your permit application on file to process a launch reservation request. No waiting lists are maintained.CONFIRMING YOUR RESERVATION AND OBTAINING A PERMIT
From March 1 to October 31, advance payment of a user fee by the trip leader is required to confirm a launch date. To confirm and obtain your permit, your entire fee payment must be received at least thirty days prior to the launch date. Fee payments cannot be accepted at the launch sites. Plan ahead. We are not responsible for mail service. If the launch is not confirmed, it will be made available to other boaters.
If you have any questions, then call the Price Ranger District Office at 435-636-3600 for assistance.
CANCELING YOUR PERMIT
If you have already paid for your permit and cancel your reservation at least 30 days prior to the launch date, a refund of paid fees minus the $6 reservation fee may be obtained. Cancellations within 30 days of the launch date will not receive a refund.
Failure to comply with these requirements may result in trips being delayed or permits invalidated, and may result in penalties under Federal or Utah Law and Regulations. Launching without a permit may result in penalties under Federal or Utah Law and Regulations.
1. The permit is not transferable without prior approval of the issuing office, and must be in the possession of the permittee on the trip. Permittee must provide photo ID at permit inspection;
2. Permittee must allow rangers to complete permit checks to determine the validity of the permit, ascertain that the group has all required equipment, and orient participants about river etiquette and safety;
3. The permittee must, at the launch site, have:
||No more people than the number paid for on the permit;
A MAJOR First Aid kit;
A repair kit or kits (for inflatable craft);
An air pump or pumps;
A washable, reusable toilet system;
A durable metal fire pan. Fire pans must be carried on all overnight trips and all trips even if stoves are to be used for cooking;
A properly fitted whitewater USCG-approved Type I, III or V life jacket for each member or the party
4. Each raft or dory must, at the launch site, have an extra oar, paddle or motor, and a bailing bucket;
5. Parties using only low capacity vessels (canoes or kayaks) under 16 feet in length must carry spare paddles as follows: 1 to 3 boats require 1 spare paddle, 4 to 6 boats require 2 spare paddles, 7 to 9 boats require 3 spare paddles, etc.;
6. Each boat of 16 feet or longer must have a type IV throwable device such as a ring buoy, or a throw bag with at least 40 feet of line;
7. The permittee must ensure that all trip participants:
||Carry all charcoal, fire ash, garbage, solid human body and pet waste out of the river area (leaving solid human body waste on public land or dumping it into vault toilets or trash receptacles at BLM administered facilities is prohibited);
Adhere to the Utah Boating Act, which includes the wearing of life jackets, and registration of motor boats;
Not engage in commercial use;
List any trip sponsor associated with the trip on the permit application;
Keep side canyon streams and springs free of soap and other contaminants;
Not remove, damage or destroy archaeological, historical, ecological resources;
Make campfires only in fire pans and limit the use of wood to driftwood;
Not engage in upstream motorized travel or engage in downstream motorized travel at other than a low speed;
Launch, travel and camp together as a group;
Not camp or build fires on public land within 1/2 mile of the mouth of Rock Creek
Boat tags issued by the river ranger must remain attached to boats for the entire trip. A minimum trip length is three (3) calendar days, and maximum trip length is nine (9) calendar days. Pets are only allowed on trips launching between August 16 and November 15. All persons must wear their PFD from Jack Creek to the take out.